Running

I’ve never really been much of a runner, I have tried but found it hard to push myself, giving up the moment it became to hard to breath or at the first sign of a stitch. I had come to the conclusion that running was not for me.
That was until I joined the Red Kite Runners after their page came up on my Facebook wall. I joined their couch to 5k course to ease myself into it. I started off quite well, running at the front of the group for the first few runs and then after 2 weeks of awful virus, I found myself at the back of the pack.
Week 6 and race day arrived, the thought of running 5k was daunting although we had run the course a couple of times by now I was still walking some of it. But I made myself a running playlist and dug deep, finishing the course in around 37 mins with absolutely no walking!!

IMG_4252.JPG

I’m now on week 11 I think and although I still hang around near the back of the pack I am managing longer distances and pushing myself every session. Last session I ran 4.25 miles non stop. It may not sound a lot to some people but to me it’s a big achievement. I’m off running again tonight so I will let you know how I get on.

IMG_4200.JPG
Me and my running buddy Kristine with our flashing ankle lights.

Leave a Reply

