8 weeks tomorrow

Eight weeks tomorrow I will be boarding an aeroplane to begin the biggest adventure of my life so far and I am flitting between feelings of extreme excitement (think 5 year old on their birthday) and absolute fear of the unknown. I am stepping way out of my comfort zone to prove to myself that there is still more to me than tired, worn down, Netflix addicted, stressed out mum.

In the 2 years since I signed up I have pushed myself constantly outside my comfort zone, from talking about my  challenge to a room full of strangers to climbing precarious ridges on Helvellyn and slopes icy on Scafell. I am proud of what I have achieved so far and how much money I have raised for such a great cause but facing the reality of 16 days away, far away from my children and my husband is possibly the biggest challenge I have yet to face.

Starred Photos3

I have packed shopping bags, held raffles and music nights, stood in the metrocente wearing a santa hat on my own with a collection bucket for 4 hours. I have sweated, cried, run so fast my lungs felt like they would explode, I have feared for my life on windy and icy mountain tops (exhaustion + high winds or ice + shear drops = crazy emotional fear of impending doom) but I have also seen amazing sunrises, snow covered mountains that stretch for miles in every direction, I have laugh and chatted with new friends and complete strangers and I have faced my fears. So far this challenges has been the best thing I have ever done for myself. I can not wait to get to base camp!!

If you can spare a few quid please sponsor me, Its for a fantastic cause and the more I raise the better for them.

https://www.justgiving.com/couchtobasecamp2015

xxxxx

 

Leave a Reply

