22 Days to go!!

I am currently trying to find the balance between stepping up my training and not injuring myself with less than 4 weeks to go I don’t have enough time to recover from anything serious.

I am still running twice a week, keeping it to short 5K runs to avoid injury or strain. I also have a personal training session twice a week now and it’s getting tougher, wall sits, squats and one hundred different ways to make my leg muscles burn, I’m off there this afternoon and my legs are still burning from Wednesday. So training is going well I can feel a big difference in my fitness level, I think I will be ready, I just need to lay off the take aways :).

Kit wise I am not so ready. I have finally ordered some prescription sunglasses off the very helpful and knowledgable Andy from RockSpex, they should arrive in 12-14 days. I have the majority of my important kit like water proofs, down jacket but still need to find a warm yet not mortgage worthy sleeping bag. Then its all the little bits, pain relief, toilet paper, suncream, wooly hat (that reminds me I need to buy wool for my friend so she can make my hat). I can guarantee I will be buying stuff in Kathmandu and along the trail as I realise I have forgotten stuff.

Just a quick post from me today and no pictures, as I haven’t been out in the hills for a few weeks and I am pretty sure you don’t want or need to see pictures of my sweating at the gym.

Tomorrow I will be pack backing at Marks and Spencer at the Metrocentre from10am till 4 pm to raise some extra pennies for St Oswald’s Hospice. (if you are local pop in and say hello).

If you would like to sponsor me you can do that here on my just giving page or text BASE80 £10 (or other amount) to 70070.

You can also follow me on twitter @couchtobasecamp

See you later

Claire

 

Leave a Reply

